TEMPER. A love story. Daphne Bellflower

TEMPER. A love story.

What I meant to say – as I tried my best to keep my Temper stuffed into the narrow space between my esophagus and stomach lining – was that I would be thrilled to go to Lincoln City, Oregon in the pouring rain to meet with a demanding client.

My lifelong companion Temper – an angry little orange beast with sharp claws and a knack for delivering swift gut kicks – laughed at me from the place it was temporarily stuck. “Did you really mean to say that?! Or did you mean to say go screw yourself!! Ah hahahahahaha”

I sighed, pulled my stiff lips into a smile fake enough to give Jean Enersen a run for her money, and said “Yes. Of course. I’ll pack rubber boots, a rain slicker, and (muttered under my breath) a handful of Xanax.”

A few gut kicks later from Temper, and I was on my way home to pack a suitcase full of clothes suitable for 50 mph wind gusts and horizontal precipitation.

I took a couple of deep cleansing breaths and repeated my mantra until I arrived at my house: “I love my job. I love my job. I love my job.”

Daphne Bellflower

About bbcstudiowrites

This blog is me archiving the BBC Studio Writers Workshop.

Posted on October 8, 2013, in Fiction, Seattle, Short Stories. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

